• Home
  • Korean
  • AFC Champions League
//final_margin="width:188px; margin-right:0px;"
  • ACL

  • About us
  • Academy
  • Sponsors
  • Rules & Regulations
  • Clean Center

Greetings of President Kwon, Oh Gap

Launched as the first ever professional league of East Asia in 1983, K LEAGUE is the centre of Korean football and the stepping stone of its development.

Starting off with 5 teams in 1983, today’s K LEAGUE has grown, with great support from its fans, to be composed of 12 clubs in K LEAGUE Classic and 10 clubs in K LEAGUE Challenge.

Achievements such as Korean football’s rise to the position of being the best in Asia, achieving a miraculous result of going through to the semi-finals in the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea-Japan, reaching the top 16 in the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa, and grabbing bronze medal in the 2012 London Olympics were all possible because of the existence of the professional league. Additionally, reaching the AFC Champions League finals 5 times in a row, in which K LEAGUE clubs won 3, shows the quality that K LEAGUE possesses.

K LEAGUE with its approximate 1,500 devoted members including players, coaching staffs, team associates, match commissioners, referees, and scorekeepers, are contributing to the development of the country with the assistance of many football industry members by inducing great economic growth and promoting the health and harmony of the society. Moreover, K LEAGUE has emotionally moved the people of Korea and has been a driving force of unifying the people as one.

K LEAGUE is always preparing for changes and challenges. We will always work to satisfy the love and expectations that you have given us by providing you unforgettable stories, moving moments, and the utmost enjoyment that only K LEAGUE and the unified efforts of the union, teams, and players can provide.

We humbly ask for your continuous love and support so that K LEAGUE, which takes pride in its international quality of matches, can grow into a league that both international and domestic football fans can enjoy.

Thank you very much.

Beyond 11

About us

On May 1983, the very first professional football league of South Korea, K LEAGUE, has started under the name of 'Super League'. While the league only had 2 professional teams and 3 semi-pro teams in the beginning, K LEAGUE now has 12 teams in the first division, K LEAGUE Classic, and 11 teams in the second division, K LEAGUE Challenge. With such success, K LEAGUE became the finest professional football league of Asia.

Over the past 32 years, K LEAGUE was able to accomplish many of its goals due to the continuing support of the fans along with utmost passion and dedication from the clubs and their officials. K LEAGUE was the first ever professional sports league in Korea that held nation-wide competition, and applied the division system (first division, second division). In the span of the past 30 years, K LEAGUE teams became champions of Asia 10 times; with Daewoo Royals becoming the first champion in 1986, and Ulsan Hyundai winning the AFC Champions League in 2012. The endless effort of K LEAGUE finally blossomed when the Korean National Team reached the semi-final stage of the 2002 FIFA World Cup and when the Olympic National Team won the bronze medal in 2012 London Olympics. K LEAGUE has been the stepping stones of foundation in Korea's emerging culture in sports, which has been the key factor of development in sports and exchange of culture throughout Asia. Now, K LEAGUE is ready to launch again to walk shoulder to shoulder with the great world of football. K LEAGUE very much appreciates the love and support from everyone.
Thank you.


1983 Hallelujah FC

1984 Daewoo Royals (Busan IPark)

1985 Lucky-Goldstar Hwangso
(FC Seoul)

1986 POSCO Atoms (Pohang Steelers )

1987 Daewoo Royals (Busan IPark)

1988 POSCO Atoms (Pohang Steelers )

1989 Yukong Elephants (Jeju United)

1990 Lucky-Goldstar Hwangso
(FC Seoul)

1991 Daewoo Royals (Busan IPark)

1992 POSCO Atoms (Pohang Steelers)

1993 Ilhwa Chunma (Seongnam FC)

1994 Ilhwa Chunma (Seongnam FC)

1995 Ilhwa Chunma (Seongnam FC)

1996 Ulsan Hyundai Horang-i
(Ulsan Hyundai)

1997 Pusan Daewoo Royals
(Busan IPark)

1998 Suwon Samsung Bluewings

1999 Suwon Samsung Bluewings

2000 Anyang LG Cheetahs (FC Seoul)

2001 Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma (Seongnam FC)

2002 Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma (Seongnam FC)

2003 Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma (Seongnam FC)

2004 Suwon Samsung Bluewings

2005 Ulsan Hyundai Horang-i
(Ulsan Hyundai)

2006 Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma (Seongnam FC)

2007 Pohang Steelers

2008 Suwon Samsung Bluewings

2009 Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors

2010 FC Seoul

2011 Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors

2012 FC Seoul

2013 Pohang Steelers

2014 Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors

2015 Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors

Visit us

Public Transit Information

Address 46, Gyeonghuigung-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, 110-062 Rep. of KOREA
BUS 171 , 272 , 601 , 606 , 700 , 707
Subway Line 3 Gyeongbokgung station
Line 5 Gwanghwamun station